Let’s Talk About Hate

SC
9 min readApr 13, 2023
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

That Artic Rambler and I are at it again. For those on the sidelines who need to catch up, an article was written by a self-proclaimed misandrist that’s getting some traction. Here’s the link to it, for context. The author is relatively new to Medium, but she attracted the attention of Argumentative Penguin.

The article had a title guaranteed to trigger men. The author came out swinging, and pulled no punches. Looks like there’s a lot of rage from men in the comments and a lot of positive traction from feminists. I know, I know … I’m shocked too (no, I’m not). It was pretty standard fare. Good points. Bad points. Weak points. Decent but dangling points. All that Jazz.

Anyway, Penguin posts a question. Does this hatred include boys? I answered, thinking they were looking for basic clarification. There was an analogy to rattlesnakes that Penguin felt had to have withered some penises somewhere. I admit, it was a very good analogy; it depressed the Teflon Penguin. It’s all there in the comments, if you want to take a gander, but Penguin fired off this Rebuttal article to which there was some more back and forth in the comments and I apparently depressed even more men. I did not know I would be working on my Overachiever badge with this back and forth or that depressing men would count, but I’m not going to complain. That badge is a high point one and I want some swank.

--

--